Wexford Senior Cross Country Championships, JFK Park, 14-Oct-2018

JFK Park played host to a dramatic and record breaking Wexford Senior Cross Country Championships. Conditions were summer like and despite significant rain in the lead up to race day, the surface was perfect. DMP were magnificent and claimed their first ladies title in many years, in a race that had a strong Striders presence. Beth Foran followed her recent medal winning performance at the novice level, to lead home an impressive ladies Striders team including Sandra Young, Sonia Byrne, Katie Murphy, Anastasia Cash, Lettie Myers, Leona Cranny and Aine Cullen. All ladies ran exceptionally well and were close to a team medal. The noise level cranked up even more during the mens race, where SBR were trying to create their own slice of history, by winning nine successive club titles. Undoubtedly the individual performance of the day, for the Striders, came from the youngest man in the field, Aedan Rogers, who was so impressive in landing a second place finish. With heroic performances from the remainder of the Striders team of Brendan Lyng, Alan O Connor, John McGrath, Paul Doran, George Delaney, Joe Lillis, Pat Murray, Pat Callahan, Matt Flannelly, Mick O’Gorman, Paul Colfer, Emmett Malone and Colm Stafford, it was easily the best club performance in decades, at this event. When the dust settled and the calculations were made, SBR retained their title by one point from a gallant Striders squad.

Everyone at the club are so proud of the efforts of our senior ladies and mens teams at the county championships. Well done to all our juvenile athletes and parents who stayed on to support both teams. Hopefully lots of our talented under age athletes will follow in the footsteps of Aedan and Katie and progress to represent the club at senior level.

Finally, well done to Fiona Kehoe and Ger Forde on their individual wins and to DMP and SBR who both created history for their respective clubs.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.